#5 I WILL SUCCEED

You announce from radio and television channels

You write on newspapers and on social media

Your ugly fabricated lies

You paint me in terror

I’ll succeed

Does my faith upset you?

Why are you so blind and deaf?

“Cause I say the truth with my smile?”

Just like spring and autumn

With flowers blossoming and leaves falling

I’ll say the truth

I’ll keep my faith

Do you want to see me quitting

Do you want to see me ashamed

Of my headscarf

Stripping my clothes

Like a sad Christmas tree

Forgotten in the basement?

Does my stubbornness

Make you angry?

“Cause I walk like a Queen”

I’ll succeed

You slander me with your words

You chain me in your prisons

You crush me with your drones

I’ll succeed

Does my kindness upset you?

Does my beauty surprise you?

Does my voice irritates you?

I’m a free woman

I walk with pride

I lower my gaze

I decide my life

I have my opinions

I express them loud

I’ll succeed

-Shirin Ramzanali Fazel

Leave a comment